Oct 25, 2007

Jim Powell on the concentration of executive power

Indeed, [Teddy] Roosevelt ushered in the practice of ruling by means of executive orders, bypassing the congressional legislative process. There had been presidential directives since the beginning, but they had seldom been used. During the presidency of Abraham Lincoln, they became known as executive orders. From Lincoln to Roosevelt’s predecessor, William McKinley, there was a total of 158 executive orders. Roosevelt, during his seven years in office issued 1,007 . . . . Only two other presidents issued more executive orders than he: his fellow progressive Woodrow Wilson (1,791) and his distant cousin, Franklin Deleno Roosevelt (3,723).

~ Jim Powell, Bully Boy: The Truth About Theodore Roosevelt's Legacy

No comments: